Comments

The most memorable learner when I taught English in a private school was an elementary school boy, maybe he was 10 years old. At that time I taught him private teaching style. He just started learning English, so, first of all, I started teaching Alphabet. For me I did not like to let learners memorize alphabet because this routine work tends to be boring. I always tried to find useful and easy and fun way, but it was hard for me to find. Fortunately, he was filled with imagination, so he was an artist. After I gave him a list of alphabet, he started drawing picture on his notebook. At that moment, I was waiting what he wanted to do without stopping drawing. Then, he told me that he really liked fishing, so he knew well about fishing tools as well. Therefore, he tried to find the similarity between fishing and alphabet. For example, he explained me the similarity both fishhook and “J”. Every time he found, he explained them to me, his eyes were shining and he had amazing knowledge about fishing, so he looked very confidently because he was a learner, but at that class I became a learner. Finally, he made almost alphabet, and he could memorize very quickly. After this class, when he forgot alphabet, I told him the name of fishing tool, so we had common secret code between him and me. Therefore, it was very easy for me to build up good relationship. I think if I let him to stop drawing picture, he lost his motivation. Also, he might not like me. I believe that child has a talent, so for teacher, the most important thing is to try to find their talent and raise it.
Since I have never been taught English until intermediate school, I want to share my general insights about EFL for young learners.
the biggest mistake parents make, at any age, is assuming their child is either too young or too old for a second language learning. It is a proven fact that children learn their language thru what is spoken by the adults around them. Sometimes this includes words we later wish they hadn’t learned!!
A child’s brain is very similar in action. It will absorb from ANY situation what it can take at that time. Teachers should not be afraid to introduce new vocabulary to toddler or preschooler just because someone has said it is not an age appropriate experience for your child. If it truly is not age appropriate–then the child will be bored and take nothing from it. But there may be some small part of it, that the sponge will absorb. Sometimes, this will not even be evident for a while after the fact.
when I started to study English,it was when I was 11 years old.At that time,I went to cram school and prepared for English after going to junior high school.Actually I was not interested in studying Englih.Since my mother told me to do so,then I went there.I don't remember well at that time,but teachers taught me just only grammatical things and a little bit discourse.Of course,I was taught by Japanese teacher by Japanese. On the other hand,I had a pen pal from NZ because of my father's job.Even though I took a boring class at cram school,I made a fun time to read the letters from her.In those days,I couldn't read and understand what the letter said,but my father translated and told me.When I could understand it,I was really happy and wanted to read by myself.I stll remember the feeling.Since then,I tried to translate without help and looked up words or something like that. So I think it helped me to improve reading skill.Eventually we've kept in touch for almost 6years.Even we've never seen each other before,it was really good opportunity for me and appreciate my father.
When I went to junior high,luckily,I could take an oral class by native English teacher.Even though it was taken a day in a week,it was useful and students were also enthusastic because most of the students saw foreginer teacher for the first time. It was kind of challenging class for me because I've never talked to foreginer before.The class was taken by both Japanese and native English teacher.I remember that class was really fun.Both of teacher used a different kinds of tools like game or cards and let students interact.I think if teacher did like that way,students never been boring.Teacher needs to create plan how students make not boring.
where did my comment go? :(

Add a comment