Comments

I'd like to use this beautiful animated short in my real English lesson in two ways.
First, for yc learners, in the warm-up part of my lesson, I will show them only the scene of a pickpurse's stealing the blind girl's bag and have them guess what will happen next. After showing the video, in an independent activity, I will distribute magic hats and toy magic wands to my students, and have them tell their wishes to their friends in English while wearing the hats and moving the wands.
Second, for oc learners, I will show my students only the characters (the blind girl, the dog, the pickpurse, etc.) and have them predict the story before watching this video. After showing this movie, I will have my students close their eyes, move in a classroom (I will move all the desks and chairs away in advance), and then have them share their opinions in groups about how uncomfortable being blind is and how they can help disabled people.
This video is so touching. I showed it to my daughter and she loved it so much although she couldn't understand everything. - I guess she loved color, sound, and character - So I think this video is very useful to use in the class. I explained to my daughter why main character was finding her dog. I covered her eyes with my hand and then I said "Can you walk well?" She said "No, please help me."

I want to use this video in my future class.
1. Watch the video
2. Cover their eyes
3. Try to walk without help (I need to make enough space for extra safety)
4. Have a talk what they felt while walking

I think this activity is good to improve speaking skill and build warm-hearted men.

Picture story : I will have students work in a group and give each group strips of cartoon with a speech bubble. I ask them to look at the pictures, come up with their own stories, and fill in the speech bubble. Later, each group reports their story to the whole class.
Love this short.
I think Alex's idea is really sweet. well I may use this video for writing. For example, I can have students imagine the whole story before and after the happening on the video, write and share as a class or groups.
I love this silent animated short. I want to make a script with students for what the main cartoon character’s speaking. I will ask students what you would say in the situations if you were the girl. For example, “Help! Help! Someone stole my bag. Coco, where’re you going? Come back to me.” I will need several pauses and replays to get some sentences from students. After making a script for whole short, I will ask some volunteers to read out the script as the short plays like a voice actor.
I suggest that we all finished this short cartoon, let the students write about their feeling or emotinons about this story. And than share thier writing each other leave a comment each other's story.
After watching the cartoon, I will have students make pairs and choose one character, a girl or a dog. Each person draws a picture of the girl or the dog. Then, they make a dialog between the girl and the dog. And they act in front of the class, showing the pictures. As an assignment, I will have students find out where braille is used and report in the next class.
I want to suggest two activities.
First, let students be script-writers.
Let students see the animated short over 3 times and have students make a script of their own words. After making scripts, let students tell(or read) their own scripts watching the short. More impressing animated short with touching scripts will be newly created.

Second, I will ask students like below.
" Unfortunately, If you were to be blind, what would you miss the most ?"
( 3 things they really will miss the most after being blind )
Please write or draw 3 things and explain the reasons.

My kids are going to The Blind Children Learning Center for Christmas Season Christian Service Performances next Tuesday.
I hope they will learn a lesson through such a service.
How happy and thankful we can see !

I want to suggest two activities.
First, let students be script-writers.
Let students see the animated short over 3 times and have students make a script of their own words. After making scripts, let students tell(or read) their own scripts watching the short. More impressing animated short with touching scripts will be newly created.

Second, I will ask students like below.
" Unfortunately, If you were to be blind, what would you miss the most ?"
( 3 things they really will miss the most after being blind )
Please write or draw 3 things and explain the reasons.

My kids are going to The Blind Children Learning Center for Christmas Season Christian Service Performances next Tuesday.
I hope they will learn a lesson through such a service.
How happy and thankful we can see !

After watching this vedio, I would ask students some questions such as "How would the world be different if you are blind, deaf, mute, or if you loose your arms or legs?" Students share their opinions and emotions in groups. Then, I would make students go home and research a story of people with disability who have overcome their difficulties and become successful. Students share the stories to their group on the next class meeting.
After watching this video, I will ask lerners whether they could notice she is blind or not. If yes, why . Then, tell the person next to them, [why she can use magic...etc],learner has to mention their own opinion.
Joy said
1. Play the video clip.
2. Stop the video at the right before the ending.
3. Have students guess what will happen next and make the conclusion in groups.
4. Every group reports.
5. Play the video from the beginning to the end.
6. Students choose by vote one group that made the most similar conclusion to the video.
7. Give blank papers to every students.
8. Have students select the most memorable or favorite scene from the video, draw it, describe what was happening in the scene with simple past and past progressive tense, and explain why I chose it on the paper.
9. Students discuss about their scenes in pairs.
I also thought this anime was touching. I didn't notice that the little girl was a blind until the last scene.
For my future class,I'd like to apply as story telling with using pictureboard. A teacher makes pictureboard and two main characters,made by papers, and sticks and let students listen what was happend in every single scene right after finished watching this video clip. Then a teacher asks students what this little girl and coco are thinking now. After guessing,students can act out in front of class as Reiko said. At this point,only two students can be in charge of a little girl and coco.If it has extra time,pick up other students and let them act out.
I want students to restate the story. For example, "When a girl who was blind walked on the street with her dog, a man suddenly robbed her of the bag. Then..." It may be a good exercise for speaking, and students will produce a variety of expressions of the story.
This video is very moving. Through the little girl's imagination, the world got changed.
I hope that the children can get improved positively from a good motivation from my class.
Thank you for a nice video and nice classes.
See you tomorrow.
Watching video tells us a lot without any explanation.
The world can change, we can change anything.
We're not perfect and we have to challenge to a lot of things we don't know.
Knowing new things is a lot of fun.
I want my students to feel that.
Thank you Roger, and see you tomorrow!
I loved this video! First of all, the little girl is so cute! I didn't realize the fact that she couldn't see until the end. I thought that she blacked out after she hit herself to the wall and she was dreaming. But everything came out from her imagination. All she could do was touching and smelling, and a whole new world was created. Although she couldn't see anything, her own little world was bright and exciting. It showed the power of imagination. I also loved the color tones and music in this video.
Thank you! See you tomorrow :)
This video tells us that we can make everything freely with our imagination. Though the little girl is blind, she creates the whole things of what she wants to see with her magic wand. I think the magic wand is a symbol of the imagination and creativity. Sometimes, we feel afraid of creating new things because we can't guess the result, but we feel so excited and happy at the same time like the girl does. This video is touching even though there is no dialogue. Thank you for showing me this video! See you tomorrow!
I love this story of a little girl and a dog. They are so cute! While the scene has only the word Coco and most of the scene are silent, I was moved. It means if we use the a lot of words, the imaginetion can blow people away, I think. The scenes of the blind girl following her dog Coco make imagine and feel me anxious feeling of the girl. And after that I imagine and feel the feeling like when we are traveling alone and finding my way through tryigng many things and getting rid of many difficultis to make ourselves happy. At the end the story, the girl could find her dog as well as her dog could find her bag. I think we are now on the way of finding our own way through trying and sometimes struggling against some difficulties in US. I hope we can get rid of them and find our own best ways to learn and teach English.
Thank you for teaching many things, Roger.
See you later!
Hi, I'm Tomoko Ohara. I was deeply moved by this short movie.I can imagine how hard I live in the world "Out of sight".We sometimes believe the only things we can see ,and we are apt to forget the imagination. But we can know and find many things in invisible things, so I want to be a person who can believe and imagine invisivle things in my future and my life.That will make my life happy and wonderful.The dog is a fellow with the same mind for the girl. So I'd like to be considerate toward my precious people and dear friends. Roger, thank you so much for your great classes. See you soon.    
Through those short frive minutes, watching the video, I was very thouched and started to wonder how children would view the world in their own perspective. When the little blind girl was detatched from the dog leash, she lost her way to the reality. Yet she was not terrified. She faced her difficulties as she took steps forward creating her immatinative world. This reminded me one of your lesson yesterday as well that we have to see through the eyes of a child to be imaginative. Besides being imaginative, it also reminded me of how people as they grow up, tend to overlook the power of a pure and innocent mind. Grown up people are used to the idea that success is what life's all about and knowing the informations that are the most realistic and the most accurate would only lead us to a success. However life is full of unknown dark turnnels. When in one of those, we do not know what lies in just a few steps ahead of us. To go trhough this, what we need a courage and fatih that could help us to take the steps forward, not the informations about the turnnel. I think the courage is generated from the pure and innocent mind like that blind child in the video.
Thank you, Roger, for sharing the video.
Through those short frive minutes, watching the video, I was very thouched and started to wonder how children would view the world in their own perspective. When the little blind girl was detatched from the dog leash, she lost her way to the reality. Yet she was not terrified. She faced her difficulties as she took steps forward creating her immatinative world. This reminded me one of your lesson yesterday as well that we have to see through the eyes of a child to be imaginative. Besides being imaginative, it also reminded me of how people as they grow up, tend to overlook the power of a pure and innocent mind. Grown up people are used to the idea that success is what life's all about and knowing the informations that are the most realistic and the most accurate would only lead us to a success. However life is full of unknown dark turnnels. When in one of those, we do not know what lies in just a few steps ahead of us. To go trhough this, what we need a courage and fatih that could help us to take the steps forward, not the informations about the turnnel. I think the courage is generated from the pure and innocent mind like that blind child in the video.
Thank you, Roger, for sharing the video.
my first teacher of TEFL, Rodger!! good morning! :)
thanks for introducing this video. as getting older, we forget important thing easily.
this makes me think of my younger times that i have more imagination than now. :)
actually i didnt realize cutty girl couldnt see, i see the fact at the end of the video.
i think that this means sometimes imagination depends on situation. :)
so everyone can imagine affluencely! but maybe we have to hear our mind!
and hear others mind :) i wish that our classmate will be considerate to each other,
so many creative thinkings will pop up! (could we borrow the magic stick? :)
thank you so much, Rodger. i hope i will see you again soooon :)

have a wonderfulday!

I love this short movie very much!
I thought a person who lost his/her sight got other talents
like having lively imagination.
Thank you, Roger!
When I watched this animation in class, I was so impressed.
Now I understand how the blind communicate to the world.
We look at the world by eyes, but the blind meet the worlds by smelling, touching and listening. That means we have one world, but the blind has various worlds according to their imagination. This animation help me how to be more close to the blind. Thank you for sharing.
When I watched this animation in class, I was so impressed.
Now I understand how the blind communicate to the world.
We look at the world by eyes, but the blind meet the worlds by smelling, touching and listening. That means we have one world, but the blind has various worlds according to their imagination. This animation help me how to be more close to the blind. Thank you for sharing.
At the begging of this video, I saw the girl was walking on the yellow path, and I noticed that she cannot see. So when she hit against the wall and her dog went away, I was worried what would happen to her.
But I really liked the scene that she found a twig. Because when she started using "the magic wand" and heard sounds, she started to "see" the wonderful world. I also liked the scene when she met her dog again. Then "the magic wand" turned into just a twig again.
This movie doesn't have much conversation, but it tells us a lot. I think this is a great short movie. I like it a lot.
Thank you for sharing this movie in the class!
I love this short movie.
I remember someone said that when people lost one sense, like sense of sight,
other sense would develop.
I felt that the girl lost her sense of sight, but other senses were really developed.
And also she developed her imaginative power.
Thank you, Roger. I really enjoyed it.
I knew she's blind when I saw she was touching the fence by two hands. People with disability have special and different ways of communication of their own. They are different and differently abled. I think the writer of this animation knows well the world of the blind. Very good animation!
HaHa.
I watched this animation 5times.^^
I think the blind girl is a very happy person.
Actually, we think that if I am a blind, I 'll be unhappy, and it's too hare to live this world.
Yes, it's very hard to live with disabilities, but maybe they have another way to live this world happier than nomal.
In out of sight, the girl can creats her own beautiful world.
It is happier than see a true world, I think.

So, who's shortage can sometimes be a amazing advantage.
It gives me a chance to think about how can change my shortage to advantage.
And also I think that I have to grow up a sight that can change one's shortage to a precious advantage.

Thank you Roger, it is a good chance for me. ^^

Add a comment