Question B.

 

Bryan (Dae Jin) Kim

 

GTM has been used over the last few centuries in teaching foreign languages. However, it has evidently proven unsuccessful for students to fully acquire the language. Of course, I agree that GTM has its plus side as well. Specific grammar rules and translation skills are an important part of being bilingual. Instead of teaching the traditional translation method, I want to incorporate various kinds of teaching methods that we have learned in class.
It is hard to specify which method is the best or which one is my favorite because different methods have its own pros and cons. It is up to the teacher to sometimes combine methods depending on his/her student level or learning atmosphere. For example, if I were teaching beginning level young kids, I would want to use ALM and TPR together. Kids have extra energy to move around and they can enthusiastically follow the curriculum well. If I were teaching an intermediate/advanced level teenagers, I would want to emphasize that knowing bits and pieces of grammar and sentence structure is less important than being able to understand and grasp the ideas that these sentences actually convey. If students are stuck in the old method of translating sentence from one language to another, they would never learn to appreciate the beauty of a language, much less to find hidden meanings behind the actual words written or said. This idea is using Whole Language in that I encourage students to see the whole picture, the whole language, rather than the details.
Although it would require much more time for the teacher to prepare lesson plans, I believe that it is the teacher's responsibility to spend extra time outside of class to make the class effectively learning English.

Comments

I like where you are going with this Brian. The 'extra time' you mentioned that a teacher would need to spend is not wasted. Lesson plans-good ones-can be recycled.

Add a comment